To the Author of ‘7 Reasons Jesus Was Gay’

gay jesus

I’m a big fan of Thought Catalog, so naturally I came across your post “7 Reasons Jesus Was Gay”. After reading this piece, I’d like to tell you that as a gay Christian myself, I am extremely disappointed that you would choose to make us a laughingstock by posting this kind of material.

Every day, LGBT Christians face seemingly insurmountable discrimination from our fellow believers, and so-called jokes like your post serve only to make a mockery of our struggle for equality.

Sure, it’s satire. I get it. But the thing about satire is, it always has a target. What you’re doing is making us, LGBT Christians, the target by denigrating our cause and our beliefs.

RELATED: Why ‘happy holidays’ really is keeping Christ in Christmas after all

Traditionally-minded Christians see this kind of stuff and think it’s representative of the attitudes of LGBT believers. While the truth is, we most imperatively do not believe in making a joke of our savior. But that’s just what people need — more reason to justify religious homophobia.

And as if that weren’t enough already, you also managed to reinforce harmful stereotypes about straight men while you were at it. According to each of the seven items in your list, a straight man should be:

  1. Disinterested in brotherly friendship and eager to objectify women
  2. Sloppy
  3. Devoid of any taste or class
  4. Incapable of artistic expression
  5. Sex-obsessed and unable to be content single
  6. In love with violence and willing to treat his wife like she’s worthless
  7. Captivated by destruction, power-obsessed, and uncompassionate

So thank you for contributing to the already massive problems of religious homophobia and gender stereotyping with your sorry attempt at humor. In the off chance that I haven’t already made myself unmistakably clear, I cannot remember ever reading anything so insulting or offensive as your blog post.

UPDATE: Freshly Pressed Follow-up

Here’s a follow-up I wrote upon receiving a WordPress.com Freshly Pressed editors’ pick for this post.

In addition to sharing my personal story behind this post, the follow-up will also help you find more of my posts about Christianity and homosexuality.

Recommended

206 thoughts on “To the Author of ‘7 Reasons Jesus Was Gay’

  1. Ugh, it’s unfortunate that they wrote that. Satire can be splendid or it can be quite bad – perpetuating offensive stereotypes to the point where it ceases to be funny falls in the latter category.

    • Couldn’t agree with you more, Thomas. I love humor, but I definitely believe there is an appropriate way to use it and an inappropriate way. There are some things you just shouldn’t joke about, plain and simple.

        • You know Tyler, in the context of WWJD, really he loved us all and was NOT hanging with the in crowd but those that were miss understood and imperfect. He modeled loving those of us that had frailties and not imposing more old testament guilt. If your motivation is out of love you can’t fail. The biggest downfall of so many “christians” is they find satisfaction in self imposed judgement of others. Jesus is to be the light and not cast a shadow of darkness on anyone but create understanding, kindness, compassion and love. That is the faith I ascribe to. Happy Sunday!

  2. I do not understand how you can be offensed about anything thrown at you. LGBT goes against everything the Bible and God stand for.

    I have lain with men. I do not deny it. I am not ashamed of it. But I do not pretend God approves of it. You are not very bright.

    • Jesus’ love is for everybody. Equality if for everybody. Christianity is for everybody. We are all sinners just the same, and we are all loved just the same. God loves you, dude!

      • Indeed, God’s love IS for everyone, despite our sin. The important detail to remember is that to accept God’s love, we must choose him over sin. But love, in whatever form it is manifested, is never one of those sins.

        • I assume you’re not a follower of the old testamanet, so I’ll leave that out.

          I’m quite curious, though, as to why you’re believing what you believe. Am I to assume that, since you’re a Christian, you’re a follower of the Bible? If so; what is your justification for believing in the Bible? Do you see it as the words of God? Do you see it as a book describing history? The reason I ask is because the Bible, as you may know, is very ambiguous and allows for many interpretations. If you consider the Bible to be the words of God, then I would of course consider your God to be quite stupid, if his intention indeed was to spread his words of wisdom. If you consider the Bible a book describing history, however, then how do you decide what is allegorical and what is not? How do you decide how to intepret the content of the Bible, when there are more than one possible interpretation available?

          These are genuine questions, and I’m not trying to offend you, I’m merely trying to understand your process of thought.

          Your sincerely, proof132.

      • Let me tell you, Emilio, that’s one of the biggest frustrations about being a Christian. We put so much effort into preaching about love, but far too often forget to practice it ourselves. Thanks for commenting.

    • Dr. Illusion, you say you’re gay and believe that God disapproves, I’m a bit concerned with this line of thinking…
      Where does that leave LGBTQ individuals if their sexuality is not only unsanctioned by God, but also seen as sinful by God? Are you insinuating that you personally view your own sexual tendencies as immoral and/or unnatural?

      • nauticalnothings, this is not an uncommon phase for gay Christians to go through. For a long time, I struggled to accept my sexuality as a Christian, and let me tell you, it does a number on your mental health.

      • The Bible is very clear on homosexuality. And it is both immoral and unnatural. I would think the rampant disease and hedonism in the gay community would make that obvious.

        I did not say I was gay, I said I have lain with men. And I may do so again. I have nothing against it, in a worldly sense.

        But to claim it’s not a sin and God is OK with it is just a flat out lie. That would be like me drinking myself into a coma every night and claiming Jesus is OK with it because he turned water into wine at a wedding. He aso preached against drunkeness and excess. Deny specific scripture all you want, it’s still there.

        • Dr. Illusion, I think you might find the book “Torn” by Justin Lee an eye opening read. You can stand by your interpretation of Scripture. No one asks you to change your convictions, but please extend some grace to people who love Jesus and have different understandings of Scripture.

  3. “And as if that weren’t enough already, you also managed to reinforce harmful stereotypes about straight men while you were at it.”

    This used to bother me until I realized that almost without exception, straight men seem to positively champ at the bit to reinforce negative stereotypes about themselves, and to glory in it. (Now awaiting the predictable conclusion that throughout my pushing-50-years on this planet, I have always somehow just managed to randomly meet the wrong ones.)

    Seriously — let the straight men complain about their harmful stereotypes if they dislike them so much. They don’t need you or me to act offended for them so they don’t have to.

    • I appreciate your thoughts, fireandair. It definitely seems that many straight men revel in that stereotype. I would argue, though, that that behavior isn’t innate, but learned. Society tells men that unless they fit the right mold, their masculinity is at stake. As a result, men feel compelled to affirm this stereotype because they feel like they need to prove themselves “macho.”

  4. The anti-Christ will be gay. I am not saying this as a slight toward the gay community, but it states he will have no need for women. That means he will have no interest in women at all, but he will be mistaken for being a good guy. Trust me, I know many gay people who will not be roling with the anti-Christ when he does come.

    • oliverflower, I believe the passage you’re referring to is Daniel 11:37, “Neither shall he regard the God of his fathers, nor the desire of women, nor regard any god: for he shall magnify himself above all.” This passage is usually interpreted to mean that the Antichrist will be so arrogant and self-absorbed that nothing can deter him from loving himself above all else. What are your thoughts? Thanks for reading.

  5. Tyler, that 7 reasons post was the stupidest post I have ever attempted to read. Wine, as one of the reasons Jesus is gay? Seriously? That’s just dumb. There is nothing funny about that.
    I wasn’t going to read your post when I saw it on FP but I’m glad I clicked on it thanks for your view brother.

  6. A good post about stereotypes. I would say that LGBT Christians also face a lot of discrimination from the bible too, which is puportedly the accurate depiction of the religion and its god. I will admit that I do not understand at all the desire to remain Christians when the book itself says you are deserving of death. I do understand that there are some decent humane parts but I can get those elsewhere without nedting to come up with excuses on why this god didn’t “really” mean those parts.

    • The important thing to remember is that you can’t read the Bible like it’s a newspaper. If you do that, you get caught up in all the nitty-gritty details that are merely the product of an ancient society, details that don’t reflect the world as it is today. However, the Bible’s central, overarching message of love and redemption is the important thing to understand. That message is every bit as applicable today as it was 2,000 years ago.

      • Thanks for responding, Tyler. I have heard the same claims from Christians who are virulently anti-homosexual. From my observation, every Christian makes up their own version of the religion and all insist that their version “not read like a newspaper” is what their god “really” meant, all by picking and choosing what agrees with their personal and very human opinions and desires. For instance, you have one version (the preferable one from my point of view) and Fred Phelps has another, but neither of you have any better evidence than the other that you are “right”. I was a Christian and am very familiar with the bible. I see no over-arching message of love and redemption. Yes, there are a couple of instances where we have “love one another” and “do unto others” but then we have “kill those who do not accept me in front of me (Luke 19), “these people deserve death”(Romans 1), women are less than men (1 Timothy), and Revelation which is an orgy of violence against anyone who does not believe in the “right” way. For a god that supposedly is all love, this god has gone out of its way to keep primitive nonsense in its book. One would think that we would hear from on “high”, “Hey you idiots, we’re done with that and it never should have been in there in the first place”.

        • I see what you mean, clubschadenfreude. The often frustrating thing about faith in general is that it’s subjective; everyone has a slightly different version. And just for the record, I don’t claim to have a monopoly on divine truth. All a person can do is try his or her best to uncover the closest thing they can to that one truth, i.e. actual product may vary from image shown. I believe the condition of one’s heart is what matters most to God. If your heart is in the right place, nitty-gritty theological issues don’t matter a whole lot. But of course, that’s just the way I see it. Take it as you will.

        • I can undestand faith being subjective. However, Christians claim to worhip an objective thing with supposedly cosmic “truths”. Trying one’s best and having no evidence for what you say means that there is no religion or god, only human hates and desires.
          Other Christians also believe that the condition of one’s heart is important to this god too, and that condition is completely different than yours. The “right place” is just more vagueness, and again, Christians who disagree with you are certain that theirs in the right place as much as you think yours is. Also, to declare that anything tht makes you uncomfortable aka “nitty-gritty theological issues”, say like if your god exists, how one is saved, etc, don’t matter a whole lot demonstrates just how silly the whole thing is. If that stuff isn’t “important”, you’ve just swept out everything underpinning what you claim to believe in. However, I’m pretty sure you will ignore that. May you have a pleasant life.

Share your thoughts

